Monday, April 19, 2010

Uptown Funk Empire - The Empire Strikes Back (2009)

Artist: Uptown Funk Empire
Title Of Album: The Empire Strikes Back
Year Of Release: 2009
Label: Soulab
Genre: Funk
Quality: mp3
Bitrate: VBR kbps
Total Time: 71:50 min
Total Size: 90 mb
WebSite: Myspace


01. The Empire Stikes Back Intro 01:03
02. Boogie 05:26
03. N.O.W. Featuring Juan Rozoff 05:28
04. We Stand at the Back of the Bus Featuring 04:31
Janice & Ange
05. You've Got to Have Freedom Featuring Janice 05:49
& Ange
06. Keep on Givin'it Up 05:03
07. No One Gonna Stop Us Now Featuring Noel Mc 04:47
08. Take You Out (Interlude) 02:33
09. I'm A Manchild 04:40
10. I Guess that You Don't Mind Featuring Jrm 06:28
11. Celestial Blues Featuring Ange 04:40
12. Please Mr Postman 05:04
13. Walking Like the Ginger 04:51
14. Good Time (Bye Bye Mr Dynamit)E 05:52
15. I Used to Spend My Time 03:08
16. The Empire Strikes Back Outro 02:27

- Clique Aqui:

Release Notes:

After Metropolitan Jazz Affair, The Dynamics and Mr President, master of musical ubiquity Bruno "Patchworks" Hovart proudly presents Uptown Funk Empire, a burning tribute to one of his all time greatest loves: Funk.

Bruno ?Patchworks? Hovart, as a self-taught musician and typical teenager, started playling guitar, bass and keyboards at age 15, covering James Brown, Jimi Hendrix and Cream in his bedroom and, later in college bands. His first releases are in the mid 90s, with deep house and disco live bands and various electronic projects. He quickly evelops and shows very special skills for vintage disco/funk productions with a contemporary flavor.
This gifted boy's been working with artists such as Amp Fiddler, Archie Shepp, Mr Day, Paul Randolph... and for many recording labels such as I Still Music (usa), Favorite Recordings (france), Infracom (germany), Further Out (uk)...

Uptown Funk Empire is an exciting and ambitious project, worthy of its name. While the first album is simply called "The Empire Strikes back", it's no joke... Forget the whole revival thing, this sounds like an actual rebirth of the real funky stuff.

It's like being back to the better days of Funk without a travel machine... the vibe is vintage but the sound is fresh...That's not funky music, that's FUNKY MUSIC ! This album is huge and it covers all the golden age Groove styles : Boogaloo, Soul,
Disco, Boogie, Funk... but the music flows in the hands of a gifted modern producer. Bruno " Patchworks" Hovart plays bass, keyboards, computers... handling with love all composition, programming, arrangements, vocals...

With brilliant vocal featurings by silky Juan Rozoff, Brit-Soul legend Noel Mc Koy at his best, high-voltage divas Ange & Janice... and the funkysoul brother Bruno "Patchworks" Hovart himself on the mic... it's pure funkiness !

Beware, "The Empire Strikes Back" and is kicking... so get up & dance !

Uptown Funk Empire's music has been playlisted by radio stations such as: Radio Nova (France), Jazz Fm (UK), Nu Cool Show on Hed Kandi Radio (UK), Saturday Night Experience on Jazz FM with Mike Chadwick (UK), Craig Charles Funk & Soul show on
BBC6, Wicked Jazz Sounds on Arrow Jazz FM (Holland), Soul Jazz Meeting on Radio X with Dj Jazzmadass (Germany), Soul Food radioshow on Jazz Radio (France), Hang Time radioshow on Radio Grenouille (France), The Loud Minority radioshow on Superfly FM (Austria), Rui Vargas radioshow on Antena 3 (Portugal), Deep House Mafia radioshow on Superfly Fm (Austria), The Basic Soul radioshow with Simon Harrison (UK), Bogaloo radioshow with Matthias Desch (Germany)... Supported by DJs such
as: Joey Negro, Recloose, Dj Bobbito, Jazztronik, Rich Medina, Osunlade, Rainer Truby, Femi Fem, Nik Weston, Wicked Jazz Dj's, Stereotonic dj's, Simbad, Dj Pharoah, Kiko Navarro, Bob Jones...

1 comment:

comprar yate said...

Quite helpful piece of writing, thanks for the post.