Tuesday, April 13, 2010

Mark Drummond and Grooveometri - Six Strings, One Love (2008)

Artist: Mark Drummond and Grooveometri
Title Of Album: Six Strings, One Love
Year Of Release: 2008
Label: Mark Drummond Creative
Genre: Funk / R&B / Smooth Jazz
Format: MP3
Bitrate: CBR 192 kbps
Tracks: 19
Total Time: 01:10:42
Total Size: 97 MB
WebSite: markdrummondcreative.com


01. Flow (4:06)
02. Power (3:56)
03. Skin Tight (4:21)
04. Change My Plane (3:38)
05. Cowboy Souljer Part 1 (3:10)
06. Cowboy Souljer Part 2 (2:26)
07. Drummadu (4:04)
08. Open (5:46)
09. Mo' Flow - Interlude (0:45)
10. P.r.g. - Phunky Radio Groove (3:58)
11. Habit (3:01)
12. Lookin' Back (4:43)
13. Mkd's Cruise (3:11)
14. Diggin' (4:45)
15. Without Love (5:36)
16. Wrasslin' (2:35)
17. Jingle Jazz (5:23)
18. Grooveometri Theme (4:24)
19. Keep On Flowin' (0:46)

- Clique Aqui:

Album Notes
Mark Drummond is a Southern California-based guitarist and producer with a funky, soulful approach to smooth jazz and R&B. He spent years honing his style in Mid-South show bands before relocating to Southern California to pursue a career in broadcast radio.

The lure of performing too strong, he joined a country-influenced original R&B group called "Cowboy Soul", as a sideman on lead guitar. It was with this band that Drummond's Southern blues-rock roots were best heard, on several tracks he wrote and produced for the band's CDs.

During this time, Mark also hit his production stride, partnering with a successful Nigerian record company for a string of successful remixes that fused the energy of itinerant Nigerian performers with digital production techniques into genre-bending dance and AfroPop compositions. With lifelong songwriting partner Aljay Boyd, Drummond composed and produced the soundtrack to the film short "Bringing Up BayBay" for Soleil Films. Mark also contributed production skills and guitar to gospel jazz pianist Daniel A. Nelson's CD "Just A Touch". This collaboration yielded such a pleasing result that the two musicians teamed up for a smooth jazz CD, "2 Smoov 4 Words", released in early 2009.

After giving so much of himself to so many successful projects, the next natural next step is for Mark Drummond to offer his own musical vision on the CD "Six Strings One Love". With an eclectic track listing variously described as "R&B", "Funk", and "smooth jazz", SSOL is at once all and none of the above. It is an aural representation of one guitarist's influences, ranging from echoes of Wes montgomery's octave melodies drifting through the leadoff track, "Flow", to the all-out finger-licking funk of Leroy "Sugarfoot" Bonner's (of the Ohio Players) iconic "Fire" motif installed into the ridiculously funky "P.R.G.".Six Strings, One Love manages to touch on several subgenres of R&B, but everything is glued together by Drummond's guitar: tasteful, textured, and always rhythmically in the pocket.

1 comment:

catalogo puertas metalicas said...

Wow, there is a lot of worthwhile material above!