Tuesday, April 29, 2008

Vintage Grooves Funk Vol.1 (2007)

VA - Vintage Grooves Funk Vol.1 (2007)


1 The Begining Of The End - Funky Nassau 3:12
2 The Average White Band - Pick Up The Pieces 4:03
3 Brick - Dazz 5:40
4 The Bar Kays - Holy Ghost 3:42
5 The Brecker Brothers - Sneakin Up Behind You 3:45
6 Labelle - Lady Marmalade 3:56
7 Wild Cherry - Play That Funky Music 3:19
8 WAR - Me & My Baby Brother 3:37
9 Sly & The Family Stone - Family Affair 3:09
10 The Fatback Band - Keep On Steppin 4:22
11 Curtis Mayfield - Freddies Dead 3:50
12 The Blackbyrds - Do It Fluid 5:30
13 The Headhunters - God Made Me Funky 9:41
14 The Watts 103rd St Rhythm Band - Express Yourself 3:53


1 The Fatback Band - Wicky-Wacky 3:23
2 The Isley Brothers - Fight The Power 3:24
3 Emotions - I Don't Wanna Lose Your Love 4:13
4 Postitive Force - We Got The Funk 7:20
5 Raydio - For Those That Like To Groove 4:32
6 Cheryl Lynn - Got To Be Real 5:08
7 Earth Wind & Fire - Shining Star 2:55
8 The O'jays - For The Love Of Money 7:24
9 George Duke - Reach For It (Dance) 3:35
10 Bill Withers - Grandma's Hands 2:03
11 Cymande - The Message 4:22
12 Jackie Mclean - Doctor Jackyll & Mister Funk 6:08
13 Donny Hathaway - The Ghetto 6:55
14 The Blackbyrds - Rock Creek Park 4:32

VA - Vintage Grooves Funk Vol.1 (2007)

After the hugely successful and critically acclaimed first release in the ‘Vintage Grooves’ series ‘Old School Hip Hop’, Seamless Recordings is proud to present ‘Funk Volume 1’, the second release in the series which once again is lovingly selected by our resident superstar compiler and DJ Ian Dewhirst.
Continuing with the same ethos set with the first release there are absolutely no filler tracks, only 12” full version original mixes have been used and extensive track by track sleevenotes are included. For this first volume of ‘Vintage Grooves Funk’ Ian delves deep into the musical vaults to present 28 chunks of funk cuts from the 70s.
The tracklisting is a veritable who’s who of black music and includes one of the best and most successful exponents of 70’s Funk: Earth, Wind & Fire with their 1975 number one R&B hit “Shining Star”, as well as Bill Withers, with his much respected follow up to ‘Aint No Sunshine’ titled ‘Grandma’s Hands’, and Sly and the Family Stone with their number 1 hit ‘Family Affair’. No funk album could be complete without the classic ‘Pick up the pieces’ by Scottish funkateers The Average White Band, another US number one, ‘Play that funky music’ by one hit wonder Wild Cherry and ‘Lady Marmalade’ a number one hit when first released in it’s original version by Labelle included here, and an even bigger smash some 26 years later when it was recorded by Christina Aguilera, L’il Kim, Mya and Pink for the Moulin Rouge film soundtrack. And how can we forget Fatback Band, The Isley Brothers, The O’Jays and Cheryl Lynn, all included in Vintage Grooves Funk Volume 1. Welcome home, and happy listening!

- Clique Aki parte 1:
- Clique Aki parte 2:

No comments: