Tuesday, April 29, 2008

The New Mastersounds - Live At La Cova (2006)

This is the fourth album from UK favorites The New Mastersounds. On the heels of their acclaimed 3rd studio album This Is What We Do and several tours of the US and Europe in 2005, the band was convinced a live offering was due. Recorded on multi-track in the Summer of 2005 in Menorca, Spain inside the intimate La Cova, a club situated inside a cave overlooking the Mediterranean, the band serves up a heavy dose of original funk and soul jazz numbers from each of their prior albums as well as some of the band’s favorite cover tunes, including Grant Green's "Jan Jan," the Meter's "Funky Miracle," and other jazz funk classics like "Spooky," "FireEater," and "Duffin' 'Round" with plenty of Hammond B3 grooves. Led by guitar virtuoso Eddie Roberts, this telepathically tight quintet stretches out plenty. Featuring frequent guest Sam Bell on percussion, the album highlights their broad spectrum of pure vintage sounds and the energy they bring to their live shows, no matter what corner of the globe their danceable grooves take them. Sure to be one of the best live albums you'll hear this year! ‘Live at La Cova’ will be a surefire hit with all their fans past and present - an impressive list that includes Keb Darge, Kenny Dope, Mr Scruff, Gilles Peterson, Norman Jay, DJ Shadow, Snowboy, Quantic, Richard Searling and many more groove-lovers across the globe.

1. Miracles (2:29)
2. Duffin' 'Round (5:54)
3. You Got It All (5:03)
4. 3 on the B (6:49)
5. Funky Miracle (3:41)
6. Land Of Nod (8:03)
7. The Tin Drum (6:03)
8. La Cova (2:07)
9. The Minx (5:12)
10. Spooky (7:07)
11. Fire Eater (4:44)
12. Jan Jan (4:29)
13. One Note Brown (3:42)

- Clique Aki parte 1:
- Clique Aki parte 2:

1 comment:

puertas metalicas en valencia said...

Quite useful info, thank you for the article.