Friday, April 25, 2008

Jill Scott - Collaborations (2007)

Though a critic's darling and a favorite of those in the musical know, Jill Scott never enjoyed the commercial success she deserved during her first several years in the game. In 2007, that looked to be changing, with the release of her third full-length and a stellar set of collaborations.

Scott's talents are enough to ensure her status several times over, but those needing extra convincing need only glance at the heavyweight guest list. The Isley Brothers, Common, Al Jarreau, Mos Def, Chris Botti, George Benson, Sergio Mendes, and Will. I. Am. are only some of Scott's partners on this outing. The leaps from hip-hop to neo-soul to jazz to pop might threaten stylistic whiplash, but it is a testament to Scott's skill as an artist that the album plays like a singular, very enjoyable entity.

1. Love Rain (Feat. Mos Def) (Head Nod Remix) (5:02)
2. Daydreamin' (Feat. Lupe Fiasco) (3:47)
3. Good Morning Heartache (Feat. Chris Botti) (6:10)
4. Said Enough (Feat. The Isley Brothers) (5:03)
5. One Time (Feat. Eric Roberson) (3:51)
6. Let Me (Feat. Sergio Mendes & Will.I.Am) (4:02)
7. 8 Minutes To Sunrise (Feat. Common) (4:26)
8. Funky For You (Feat. Common & Bilal) (5:51)
9. Sometime I Wonder (Feat. Darius Rucker) (4:11)
10. Slide (Feat. Jeff Bradshaw) (4:22)
11. The Rain (Feat. Will Smith) (4:34)
12. God Bless The Child (Feat. Al Jarreau & George Benson) (3:38)
13. Kingdom Come (Feat. Kirk Franklin) (4:28)
14. Love Rain (Feat. Mos Def) (Coffee Shop Mix) (4:16)

- Clique Aki:

No comments: