Thursday, June 30, 2011

Assis Brasil Quarteto - Pedrinho (1979, remastered 2003)

Victor Assis Brasil was the best Brazilian jazzman of his generation, having being praised by international critics. He is said to have been more popular outside Brazil than in it and his style was strongly influenced by non-Brazilian musicians. This critically-acclaimed record captures Victor in 1979, during the last prolific period of his too short life, and features standards "It's All Right With Me", "Night And Day" and "'S Wonderful."

Brother of classical pianist João Carlos Assis Brasil, Victor was influenced by music from an early age, but only at 17 did he start playing the saxophone and seriously decide to pursue a music career. His interest in music grew while he hung out with other musicians at Beco das Garrafas, the home of bossa nova in the 50s and 60s. Victor studied with Paulo Moura, and became more and more interested in jazz, performing at an International Jazz Festival in Austria, representing Brazil. He also took part in a music competition in Berlin and won an award for best solo performer. In 1966, Victor recorded his first LP, "Desenhos", which today is regarded as a rare gem. Two years later, Victor released his second album and went to the U.S. to study harmony, arrangement and composition at Berklee, in Boston. In 1970, while vacationing in Brazil, he recorded "Victor Assis Brasil toca Antônio Carlos Jobim". Victor returned to Brazil in 1974; made several recordings, shows, and taught improvisation at the Brazilian Conservatory of Music. He died early, at 35, leaving a legacy that combines traditional jazz and Modern Brazilian music.


1. It's All Right With Me (Cole Porter) [04:55]
2. Nada Sera Como Antes (Milton Nascimento/Ronaldo Bastos) [05:52]
3. Pedrinho (Victor Assis Brasil) [03:52]
4. 'S Wonderful (George Gershwin/Ira Gershwin) [03:44]
5. Penedo (Victor Assis Brasil) [08:37]
6. O Cantador (Dory Caymmi/Nelson Motta) [05:12]
7. Night And Day (Cole Porter) [04:53]

- Clique Aqui:

Victor Assis Brasil - Sax;
Jotinha Moraes - Piano e Vibrafone (Vibes);
Paulo Russo - Contrabixo (Bass);
Ted Moore - Bateria (Drums).