Thursday, May 12, 2011

Margie Joseph - Makes a New Impression (1971)

Artist: Margie Joseph
Title Of Album: Makes a New Impression
Year Of Release: 1971
Label: Volt
Genre: R&B, Soul
Format: MP3
Quality: 256 kbps I 44.1 Khz I Joint Stereo
Total Time: 00:40:25
Total Size: 81 mb


01 Monologue: Women Talk 2:42
02 Stop! In the Name of Love 8:13
03 Punish Me 3:33
04 Medicine Bend 3:00
05 Come Tomorrow 4:05
06 Sweeter Tomorrow 3:17
07 Same Thing 2:15
08 How Beautiful the Rain 2:42
09 I'm Fed Up 2:54
10 Make Me Believe You'll Stay 4:27
11 Temptation's About to Take Your Love 3:31

- Clique Aqui:

Review: by Andrew Hamilton

This is Margie Joseph's most successful and aesthetically pleasing album. It was written and produced by Fred Briggs (a.k.a. Coldwater Stone) and Daryl Carter and is a mixture of Stax and city slick R&B sounds; "Punish Me," "Sweeter Tomorrow," and "Temptation's About to Take Your Love" are prime examples. A remake lifts this LP above the average mark; Briggs and Carter transform the Supremes' "Stop! In the Name of Love" into an awesome deep soul classic. Beginning with a monologue titled "Women Talk," Joseph talks to her soon-to-be-gone man about his carousing before preceding into a lengthy Isaac Hayes-type arrangement that composers Holland, Dozier & Holland probably never envisioned. Margie's version is compelling and gripping. This album's #67 chart position suggests it must have caught on with quite a few record buyers.

1 comment:

viagra online said...

actually this album is a proof that R&B didn't cares the ages or the current fashion tendencies.