Thursday, October 21, 2010

VA - Dj Spinna & BBE Soundsystem : Strange Games & Funky Things 5

Dubbed by Gilles Peterson as the best rare grooves compilation series of all time, Strange Games and Funky Things returns with the fifth volume (it's been 14 years since BBE's Peter Adarkwah conceived and launched the series), which offers classic dancefloor-ready tracks ("War Is Coming! War Is Coming!") alongside lesser-known world music gems ("Asafo Beesuon/ Obaa Yaa Aye Me Bone" by C.K. Mann & His Carousel 7). Definitely one of the strongest comps in the series. Recommended.


1. Sylvia – Sweet Stuff (04:22)
2. The Ambassadors – Ain’t Got The Love (Of One Girl On My Mind) (02:28)
3. Richard Evans feat. Linda Williams – Capricorn Rising (04:40)
4. Starvue – Body Fusion (05:39)
5. The Soul Searchers – Ashley’s Roachclip (05:35)
6. Willie ‘Beaver’ Hale – Groove On (05:59)
7. Eddy Senay – Cameo (06:11)
8. Cal Tjader – Morning (03:28)
9. Francisco Aguabella – Ramon’s Desire (04:09)
10. The Philly Armada Orchestra – For The Love Of Money (06:29)
11. Family Tree feat. Sharon Brown – Family Tree (04:40)
12. Perfect Circle – The Hands of Time (06:17)
13. War – War Is Coming! War Is Coming! (07:05)
14. Hiroshi Fukumura – Hunt Up Wind (06:04)
15. Wood Brass & Steel – Always There (05:25)
16. C.K. Mann & His Carousel 7 – Asafo Beesuon – Obaa Yaa Aye Me Bone (Medley) Edit
17. C.K. Mann & His Carousel 7 – Asafo Beesuon – Obaa Yaa Aye Me Bone (Medley) Full Length (13:33)
18. Merry Clayton – Gimme Shelter (03:28)
19. Bill Summers – Brazilian Skies (04:29)
20. Various Artists – Strange Games & Funky Things 5 Mix (Mixed by DJ Spinna)

Depositfiles 1 Depositfiles 2

It joins the dots between 70s soul, 80s rare groove and 90s mass market hip hop. This compilation contains a wide variety of styles of tracks, from classic dance-floor fillers as well as lesser known delights. A more accessible diggers delight if you wish with an emphasis on quality track and not just songs worth having for a 2 second sample.
Featuring a much more worldly selection than its predecessors - tracks by the multi platinum selling War to Sylvia ( Founder of Sugarhill Records) sit side by side with world music underground icons like C.K. Mann and Francisco Aguabella. This volume is the 5th in a series of compilations that appears to have the widest appeal of all BBEs compilations and proves to be even better by the fact that there is a bonus mixed CD by the one and only Dj Spinna!

No comments: