Wednesday, May 27, 2009

George Duke - Dukey Treats (2008)

Artist: George Duke
Title Of Album: Dukey Treats
Year Of Release: August 26, 2008
Label: Heads Up International
Genre: Jazz, Funk
Quality: MP3
Bitrate: VBR kbps
Total Time: 01:04:29
Total Size: 89 MB

Veteran keyboardist and producer George Duke remembers a time when funk was a powerful force not just in popular music but in social discourse. Frequently with a measure of wit and irony, and often with a strong dose of positivity at the core, titans like James Brown, Sly and the Family Stone and other funk icons of the `60s and `70s boldly addressed societal concerns ranging from poverty to racial disharmony to the battle of the sexes. Among the numerous treats on this album are not just the songs themselves but the roster of high-profile personnel helping to bring them to life many of them alumni of Duke's earlier bands and projects. Included on the guest list are bassist Christian McBride, percussionist Sheila E and trumpeter Michael Patches Stuart, to name a few. Along with Duke himself, the vocal crew includes Jonathan Butler, Howard Hewett, Teena Marie, Rachelle Ferrell and more.


01. Everyday Hero 05:04
02. I Tried To Tell You 04:45
03. A Fonk Tail 04:06
04. Dukey Treats 06:53
05. Listen Baby 05:35
06. Mercy 05:39
07. Somebody Laid It On Us 04:50
08. Creepin' (Ghoulie Remix) 05:01
09. Right On Time 05:28
10. Sudan 05:11
11. Are You Ready 04:32
12. Images Of Us 07:25

- Clique Aki:

The veteran keyboard/piano Master and producer (Anita Baker, Regina Belle, Rachelle Ferrell, Dianne Reeves, Marilyn Scott, Flora Purim...) returns with a very solid offering.
This is an album that is closest to his late 70's Epic albums (Reach for It, Dukey Stick etc..).
He surrounds himself with friends old and new on this set, including Sheila E. on percussion and backing vocals, a full horn section (including Michael "Patches" Stewart on trumpet and saxophonist Everette Harp), Jef Lee Johnson and Ray Fuller on guitars, and vocalists DeeDee Foster, Josie James, and Lynn Davis, as well as guest appearances by Leon "Ndugu" Chancler, Vinnie Colaiuta on drums, Wah Wah Watson, Lenny Castro on percussion, Christan McBride, Wayman Tisdale amd Michael Manson on bass and vocalists Rachelle Ferrell, Lynne Fiddmont, Teena Marie, Terry Dexter, Howard Hewett, Jonathan Butler.
A crowd-pleaser with a warm personality, he also has a serious side, and the dozen new songs here show the breadth of his artistry and awareness.
Tracks like "Everyday Hero" and the slowish masterpiece "Dukey Treats" have that P Funk tinged sound.
"Mercy" is a classic Jazz Funk style groove with a wicked instrumental break and keyboard solo following the vocal duet.
The complex instrumental "Images Of Us" is slightly more leftfield but is another Jazz Funk groover.
The gentler "I Tired To Tell You" and "Listen Baby" contrast with the frenetic Funk, as does the EWF sounding "Are You Ready".
Also on the mid-tempo side check "Somebody Laid It On Us" or the message based "Sudan", an indictment of the horrors of Darfur.
This is probably the best George Duke album for some time.
My favourite tracks: "Images Of Us", "Everyday Hero" and "Listen Baby".
"Dukey Treats" debuts at # 1 of The Billboard Top Contemporary Jazz chart and # 192 of The Billboard 200 Chart.

1 comment:

muebles valencia said...

Thanks so much for your post, really effective data.