Sunday, January 04, 2009

The Undisputed Truth - 2 first albums

The Undisputed Truth was a 1970s Motown recording act, assembled by record producer Norman Whitfield as a means for being able to experiment with his psychedelic soul production techniques. Joe Harris served as main lead singer, with Billie Rae Calvin and Brenda Joyce, formerly of The Delicates, on additional leads and background vocals.

The group's music and unusual costuming (large Afros and white makeup) typified the then-popular trend of "psychedelic soul". A number of their singles became minor hits, and many of them were also songs for Whitfield's main act The Temptations, among them "You Make Your Own Heaven and Hell Right Here on Earth" and "Papa Was a Rollin' Stone". Their single Top 40 hit in the United States was the ominous "Smiling Faces Sometimes", originally recorded by The Temptations, which hit #3 on the US pop charts in 1971.
The Undisputed Truth, along with Rose Royce and Willie Hutch, followed Whitfield during his exodus from Motown to set up Whitfield Records in 1975. At this time, Calvin and Joyce left the group, and Harris was joined by new members Virginia "V" McDonald, Tyrone"Big Ty" Douglas, Tyrone "Lil Ty" Barkley, and Calvin "Dhaak" Stephenson. The group's costuming and style changed as well, becoming even more unusual and Funkadelic-influenced.
However, the group had little success at the new label, and faded into obscurity after two more albums, although they charted in the UK in 1977 (#43) with the disco single "You + Me = Love" from the album Method to the Madness. Lead singer on the single "You + Me = Love" was Taka Boom who is Chaka Khan's younger sister.

The Undisputed Truth - The Undisputed Truth (1971)

01. You got the love I need
02. Save my love for a rainy day
03. California Soul
04. Aquarius
05. Ball of confusion
06. Smiling faces sometimes
07. We've got a way out love
08. Since I've lost you
09. Ain't no sun since you've been gone
10. I heard it through the grapevine
11. Like a rolling stone

- Clique Aki:

The Undisputed Truth - Face To Face With The Truth (1971)

A1 You Make Your Own Heaven And Hell Right Here On Earth (6:50)
A2 What Is It (4:57)
A3 Medley: Ungena Za Ulimwengu (Unite The World) Friendship Train (8:50)
B1 Superstar (Remember How You Got Where You Are) (2:56)
B2 Take Me In Your Arms And Love Me (3:52)
B3 Don't Let Him Take Your Love From Me (5:25)
B4 What's Going On (9:21)

- Clique Aki:

No comments: