Sunday, June 21, 2009

The Voodoo Trombone Quartet - Again (2009)

Artist: The Voodoo Trombone Quartet
Title Of Album: Again
Year Of Release: 2009
Genre: Funk / Ska / Breakbeat / Downtempo

01. - Vibrations (4:47)
02. - South Westerly (4:54)
03. - My Name In Food (3:39)
04. - (Hey You) The Rocksteady Crew) (4:36)
05. - Do It Your Own Way (4:01)
06. - Edgar (4:04)
07. - Chinese Burns For Free (4:09)
08. - Honey Bee (4:39)
09. - Double Bluff (3:49)
10. - So Innocent (4:01)

- Clique Aki:

Beneath the curiously comic name, cabaret presentation and funky instrumentals, lurks a band of the sort that used to be signed by major record labels. A band whose sound and style develop from one album to the next, a band whose career evolves and matures. If The Voodoo Trombone Quartets debut was described as a "future cult classic" (Future Music) then Again must surely be, simply, a classic. The long-awaited and keenly anticipated second album from The Voodoo Trombone Quartet fulfills the tantalising promise of their progressively more polished 10" vinyl EPs: The Phantom (2007) and Vibrations (2008). Again showcases wonderful songwriting on tracks like So Innocent or South Westerly (the forthcoming summer single that has radio written all over it) and sees the band shake off their early ska tag. The songs here are at once accessible and positive without being either trite or corny. They are unashamedly grown-up pop, without being boring or middle aged. They have the confident smile of youthfulness playing across their faces; bold, bright funk; tight production and warm vinyl flavors and even include a reggae-tinged take on the Rocksteady Crews eighties b-boy anthem.

1 comment:

disfrutar del sexo said...

Really helpful information, lots of thanks for your post.