Thursday, June 04, 2009

Maceo Parker - Roots & Grooves (2007)

Artist: Maceo Parker
Title Of Album: Roots & Grooves
Year Of Release: 22 Oct 2007
Label: Intuition
Genre: Jazz, Funk, Soul-Jazz, Jazz Instrument
Quality: MP3 / Joint Stereo

1 hallelujah i love her so 6:38
2 busted 3:54
3 them that's got 6:13
4 you don't know me 6:24
5 hit the road jack 5:09
6 margie 6:01
7 georgia on my mind 6:17
8 what'd i say 9:36

1 uptown up 5:57
2 to be or not to be 6:22
3 off the hook 8:02
4 advanced funk 7:10
5 shake everything you got 7:07
6 pass the peas 17:48

Clique ao Lado: part-1 part-2

Album Description
While Maceo Parker is known around the world for his signature alto sax sound - an instantly recognizable blast of rhythmically-charged soul - he has never before been heard fronting a big band. The former James Brown sideman and P-Funk all-star rises to that challenge on `Roots & Grooves', his triumphant collaboration with Germany's WDR Big Band Cologne.
Recorded live on tour in Europe in February and March 2007, this dynamic two-CD set captures the iconic sax man in concert with the acclaimed 18-piece band, under the direction of arranger Michael Abene. On the first disc, they pay tribute to Ray Charles with lush orchestrations of Charles classics like "What'd I Say," "Hit The Road Jack," "I'm Busted" and "Hallelujah, I Love Her So." The second disc, which features the slamming rhythm tandem of drummer Dennis Chambers (formerly of P-Funk, currently of Santana) and bassist Rodney "Skeet" Curtis (formerly of P-Funk and Maceo's own band), consists of expanded big band renditions of Maceo originals, including "Off The Hook," "Uptown Up," "Shake Everything You Got" and his early `70s funk anthem "Pass The Peas."

Maceo Parker - (alto saxophone, vocals), Dennis Chambers - (drums), Rodney "Skeet" Curtis - (electric bass), WDR Big Band conducted By Michael Abene

1 comment: said...

I saw a great deal of helpful information above!