Friday, November 08, 2013

VA - The Rough Guide To African Disco [Special Edition] (2013)

VA - The Rough Guide To African Disco [Special Edition] (2013)

Artist: Various Artists
Title Of Album: The Rough Guide To African Disco
Year Of Release: 2013
Label: World Music Network / RGNET1296CD
Genre: Disco, Funk, Afro-Beat, Jazz
Total Time: 1:37:04
Format: Mp3 / FLAC (tracks +.cue, log-file)
Quality: CBR 320 kbps / Lossless
Total Size: 233 mb / 679 mb

As the 1970s dawned, the all-glittering, all-dancing sounds of disco were reverberating right around the globe. Creative scenesters put their own spin on the disco sound, mashing together the rhythmic pulse of funk, soul and Latin with African grooves; soukous, Afrobeat, township jive and more. Dig the far out sounds of Osibisa, Tony Allen, Mango Groove and Yvonne Chaka Chaka.

Bonus CD: Vincent Nguini And Maloko, Soul On Fire. Hear the works of Wilson Pickett, Sam Cooke, Otis Redding and James Brown as they have never sounded before! This vintage release sees Cameroonian guitarist Vincent Nguini arranging eight classic tracks in soukous style. The retro sound is complete with heavy, brassy horns. Players include Congolese guitarist Syran Mbenza and saxophonist Fredo Ndoumbe-Ngando.


Disc 1
01. Mixed Grill – A Brand New Wayo 5:01
02. Pat Thomas – Yesu San Bra 3:51
03. The Lijadu Sisters – Come On Home 5:16
04. Mahlathini And The Mahotella Queens – Kazet 3:46
05. Yvonne Chaka Chaka – Kwedini 4:37
06. Sir Victor UwaifoFrankie Francis And Simbad Edit – Ohue 5:37
07. Bibi Tanga And The Selenites – Be Africa 4:15
08. Manu Dibango – Yekey Tenge 5:57
09. Osibisa – Dance The Body music 3:48
10. Mango Groove – Tsa-oo 4:15
11. Teaspoon And The Waves – Oh Yeh Soweto 4:14
12. Tony Allen And The Afro Messengers – Love Is A Natural Thing 9:08
13. Marumo – Toitoi 3:38

Disc 2 Bonus Cd – Vincent Nguini & Maloko – Soul On Fire
01. Vincent Nguini And Maloko – In The Midnight Hour (Medley I) 4:02
02. Vincent Nguini And Maloko – Stand By Me 3:22
03. Vincent Nguini And Maloko – Wonderful World 4:28
04. Vincent Nguini And Maloko – Words Of Love 2:39
05. Vincent Nguini And Maloko – In The Midnight Hour (Medley II) 4:24
06. Vincent Nguini And Maloko – Direct Me 5:51
07. Vincent Nguini And Maloko – Soul Man 3:45
08. Vincent Nguini And Maloko – Cold Sweat 5:02

Uploaded | TurboBit


tania said...


Franco said...

Thanks for making this available in Flac!.....just slippin' my Dancin' shoes on..

zero said...


thanks for the wonderful music on your blog. Would be great if you could add our blog to your link list:

Thanks a lot and all the best!